Anna Scavolini Book 3

The Shadow Men

They see everything. They hear everything. They know everything.

When a young police officer, Derek Sullivan, goes missing, the detective investigating his disappearance turns to criminologist Anna Scavolini – Derek’s one-time university lecturer – for help. Haunted by the belief that she failed in her duty of care towards her former student, Anna finds herself drawn increasingly deeper into the investigation.

Meanwhile, Zoe Callahan – once Anna’s best friend, now unhappily estranged – becomes preoccupied by unsettling rumours involving her old school. Uncovering a trail of evidence implicating the most powerful men in Scottish society in a scandal stretching back decades, she soon attracts the attention of sinister forces who don’t look kindly on those who disturb the past…

A missing police officer, a highly coveted list of names, a fatal car crash on a rainswept night – what connects these seemingly unrelated threads? And who are the mysterious Shadow Men, whose very name strikes terror into the hearts of all who hear it?

A compulsive page-turner with a labyrinthine, multi-stranded plot, The Shadow Men is the third novel in the Anna Scavolini series, perfect for fans of Stieg Larsson’s The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo and Denise Mina’s Garnethill trilogy.



More Books in the Series


Bonus Goodies

Anna Scavolini

Learn about the first of The Shadow Men's protagonists in this exclusive biography.

Zoe Callahan

Find out all about The Shadow Men's other protagonist in this exclusive biography.

The Story So Far

Catch up on the state of play with this recap of the two previous books in the series.

Extract

Get a sneak peek at The Shadow Men by reading the prologue and first chapter.

Behind the Writing

Discover more about the process that went into writing The Shadow Men.


Reviews

“A satisfying layered mystery, that muses on power and corruption. Mackenzie enjoys flipping tropes, and there’s a deal of humour too. Strong story telling and intriguing characters.”

— Paul Burke, NB Magazine

“Bent cops, dubious police practices and murky plutocrat paedophile rings are high in the zeitgeist at present […] M. R. Mackenzie taps into this rich vein most successfully, creating gripping tension as the ante ramps up, and giving it all his customary Glaswegian spin.”

— Roger Keen, author of The Empty Chair ★★★★★

“Adroitly written […] Deft […] Institutional corruption and conspiracy theorists mingle in a keenly flavoured mix.”

— Barry Forshaw, Financial Times

“This book is incredible. The detail, the build up, the anticipation, every bit of new evidence that gets revealed just keeps getting better and better throughout.”

Twilight Reader ★★★★★

“A very satisfying read.”

John's Bookshelf ★★★★★

“A fabulously gripping, rollercoaster of a read that kept me on the edge of my seat and left me wanting more.”

Read Read No Sleep Repeat ★★★★★

“The writing was superb and I was fully committed right from the opening chapter – a real joy to read.”

Lisa's Reads ★★★★★

“This was a book that I couldn’t put down and one that I didn’t want to end.”

Reading in the Light ★★★★★

“Overall, I honestly absolutely loved this book! It's actually the first book I have read in a long time that I know I will read more than once! Which I think you will agree is one of the highest accolades you can give to a book!”

Reading in the Fast Lane

“Complex protagonists, evil antagonists and a relentless investigation make this a compelling read.”

Jolliffe01

“A gritty, darkly compelling book which at places took my breath away.”

Books by Bindu

“This was a gripping thriller which developed over the whole book and kept me interested throughout.”

Dreaming of Selfcare

“Atmospheric, gritty and dark but engaging and immersive.”

TJ a Book a Day


Help Spread the Word

The Shadow Men doesn’t have the weight of a major publisher behind it, so I’m going to need your help to get the word out. Yes, you! That means you. Here’s how you can help:


Buy a Copy!

Goes without saying! Every copy sold helps increase the book’s visibility, and in so doing helps it reach a bigger audience. And, naturally, the money that comes to me will help ensure that I can keep writing more books.


Write a Review!

If you enjoy The Shadow Men, a positive review on your site of choice will be tremendously helpful – especially Amazon or Goodreads. Even just a sentence or a few words saying you liked it is a big help.


Talk to Your Library or Bookshop!

Llibraries and bookshops can order The Shadow Men through their usual distribution networks. Ask your local branch to stock copies!


Tell People!

Tweet about The Shadow Men! Blog about it! Post on Facebook about it! Tell your friends about it! Spread the word about its existence far and wide!