About the Author

Author photo

"One of the most consistently accomplished writers on the current scene"
Financial Times

M.R. Mackenzie is the author of several gritty, character-driven crime fiction novels set mainly in his native Glasgow, including an ongoing series of mysteries featuring criminology lecturer Anna Scavolini.

The first book in the series, In the Silence, was shortlisted for the Bloody Scotland Scottish Crime Debut of the Year and longlisted for the McIlvanney Prize for Scottish Crime Book of the Year 2019.

Books by M.R. Mackenzie

Readers' Club

Sign up to the M.R. Mackenzie Readers’ Club to receive an exclusive free ebook of the prologue and first five chapters of In the Silence, and be the first to hear the latest news.

Social Media

Connect with M.R. Mackenzie on the following platforms:


To get in touch, use one of the platforms above or send an email: